MRU - Lithuania


1st semester

Mykolas Romeris University (LT)

Local Academic Coordinator:
Raminta Bardauskienė
Email address:

Mykolas Romeris University
Ateities st. 20,
LT-08303 Vilnius

The first semester starts with one-day an icebreaking/teambuilding. Informational seminars “Procedure of Studies at MRU” and “Academic ethics and Academic writing at Mykolas Romeris University” will be organized. After the introductory day, is start to implementing ESWOCHY courses of the 1st semester: Social Work Theories, Professional Development and Supervision in Social Work (including field visits), Social Research Methodology, Comparative European Social Policy for Children and Youth, Master Thesis. Field visits are complemented by the course Professional Development and Supervision in Social Work.

Mykolas Romeris University (MRU) is named after the father of Lithuania‘s Constitutional Law Professor Mykolas Romeris (1880-1945).

MRU – the largest social sciences specialized university in Lithuania, whose most prominent studies and research components are law, public security and public administration.

The University has capable and significant core educational science, economics, humanities, communication, politics, psychology, sociology, and management areas.

These Faculties operate at the University: 
Law School;
Public Security Academy (Kaunas);
Faculty of Human and Social Studies;
Faculty of Public Governance and Business.

There are about 7,500 students and auditors studying at the University.

MRU implements meaningful international and national studies and research projects (on average about 50 projects per year).

The European Commission funded international study, “Creating a Culture of Social Innovation in Higher Education” found that MRU is the best university to develop social innovation among several hundred universities in Central and Eastern Europe.

MRU was the first in Lithuania to begin to implement joint studies programmes with France‘s, Austria‘s and Finland‘s universities and developed strong research partnership ties with South Korean and other universities in the Asian region.

South Korea, Japan, China and India were and continue to remain the main University cooperation development countries in the Asian region. Dongseo (South Korea), Josai (Japan), Huazhong University of Science and Technology (China) are only some of the many active university partners in the Asian region.

There are 21 MRU studies programmes implemented in English (10-in the first cycle of studies, 17 – in second cycle. Of this, 9 are joint, 6 – validated or double diplomas as well as 6 national, taught in English).